Nestled between two mountain ranges the isolated, slate-grey village of Patterdale can only be reached by Kirkstone pass to the South or along side Ullswater to the North. Legend has it that in the 5th century St. Patrick, having been marooned on Duddon Sands, walked 30 miles overland to this valley and gave Patterdale it's acient name of St. Patricks dale.
True or not, there is a well dedicated to the saint by the roadside at Glenridding and the pretty village church was built and named St. Patrick's in 1853.
When Patterdale Hall was built in 1796 for John Mounsey, the so-called 'King of Patterdale' and reputed miser, Dorothy disliked the colour of the exterior and so it was changed.
Current day Patterdale is little changed and is still made up of only a handful of cottages, The white Lion pub, The Patterdale Hotel, a post office, village school, the firestation and the church.